top of page
addiethompson0

My Favorite Oatmeal Recipe Ever

Does anyone else find one recipe they like and just make it over and over until they get tired of it? That’s me with this oatmeal, but I hope I never get tired of eating it; it’s just so good. I’ve always been an oatmeal fan, but my usual recipe would be peanut butter-chocolate oats. I made this over and over and never really branched out. One day, I noticed we had a bunch of frozen berries that needed to be used up, and I decided to branch out and experiment with a new flavor of oatmeal bowl. That’s when my famous “berry vanilla oatmeal” recipe was born, and I haven’t stopped eating it since. I make it allll the time. A few weeks ago I had it for breakfast Friday, dinner Saturday, and breakfast and dinner Sunday! It’s the perfect blend of sweet with some savory flavors and crunches, and it’s super healthy for you!


INGREDIENTS:

BASE

☆ 1/2 cup old fashioned oats

☆ 3/4 cup of water or almond milk (can add more as needed)

☆ 2-3 handfuls of frozen berries: blueberries, blackberries, and cherries are my favorite

☆ cinnamon

☆ vanilla protein powder (I use juice plus french vanilla)

☆ vanilla extract

TOPPINGS

☆ extra berries

☆ honey

☆ fresh jam or preservatives (I use blackberry jam)

☆ almond or peanut butter

☆ for an optional crunch, I love adding a handful of multigrain cheerios!

INSTRUCTIONS:

☆ Add your berries to a small saucepan and turn the stove on high heat. Add oats and water and allow it to heat for 2-3 minutes. As the water begins to boil, stir the berries and mash them slightly to release the juices and give the oats a nice purple color.

☆ Add a few shakes of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract, and 1 tbsp of vanilla protein powder. This step is completely up to your preferences depending on how sweet you want it (more protein powder) or how much cinnamon you like.

☆ Continue to stir on high heat until a thick, gooey mixture forms, switch to low heat and stir for one more minute.

☆ Pour into a bowl and let it sit for 1-2 minutes, this helps the mixture will thicken up even more.

☆ Toppings time! I love drizzling honey over the top for extra sweetness, and maybe an extra shake of cinnamon. Then I’ll add about 2 teaspoons of blackberry jam and swirl it over the top so it gets to all parts of the oats. Then add your berries, almond butter, and any other toppings you prefer. You could add nuts, dried fruit, granola, bananas, anything you like! Another topping I love to add is multigrain cheerios. They add the perfect crunch and a hint of extra sweetness.

And there you have it! A delicious, simple oatmeal recipe that is sure to become your new favorite. Let me know if you try it!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page